FOUR CORNERS SAFETY ASSOCIATION provides the following services for all of your driver educational needs:
-Six hours of behind-the-wheel driving(BTW) for those students who obtain their permit between the ages of 15 years and 15 years, 6 months and those needing an insurance discount. We schedule driving times for the student according to his/her needs. Those times can be after school, Saturdays, school breaks, and summer vacation. We do three, two-hour sessions with the student. The cost for the six hours of driving is $335. Please call 970-375-1230 to schedule your driving time(s). Please note that students can opt out of this if they wait until they are 16 years and 6 months old or older or if they live more than 30 miles away from my teaching location. If you believe you are outside the 30-mile radius for BTW, then you will need to submit to the DMV a MapQuest or Google Map from the address on your permit to 332 E. 11th Street in Durango. Also you will be required to do an additional 12 hours of driving with a parent/guardian for a total of 62 hours.
-Personal driving instruction and/or private lessons and evaluations cost $125 for a minimum of 2 hours. For additional private instruction, the cost is $60 per hour. Please call 970-375-1230 to schedule your driving time(s).
-Driver tests as required by the state for the license is $50 for students who have driven with 4CSA and $60 for non-students. This is for the first test. If you fail, the second test is free. Third and fourth tests are $30 each. The fifth test has to be scheduled at the DMV. 4CSA is certified by the state of Colorado to conduct those tests. Typically, the test takes 10-15 minutes to do and 5-10 minutes to fill in your information on the state DMV website. So plan on a total time of 30 minutes. We no longer give out paperwork. When you go to the DMV, your information will be on their computer system and you will have to pay them the required fee for the license. Please note that the DMV will not process your license after 4:00pm. You will need to wait until the next day. The drive test can be conducted in our vehicle (there is no extra charge for this) or in your vehicle. If you are required by the state of Colorado to have an interlock installed in your vehicle because of a DUI, we are required by law to use your vehicle. To use your vehicle, you must have current registration and insurance and if registered in Colorado you must have both front and back license plates on your vehicle. If these are out of date and/or you do not have these items, then we cannot use your vehicle until you comply with the law. Also, we have to conduct safety checks on the vehicle where we check your brake lights, turn signals and cracks in the windshield. If one of your brake lights or signals does not work and/or there is a crack in the windshield that impedes your vision, then we cannot use your vehicle until you repair those issues. If you do not show up for a scheduled test and fail to call us beforehand, then there will be an additional charge of $30 (total $90 for non-students and $80 for students). In order to make an appointment, you must call us and have a COLORADO LEARNER'S PERMIT in hand (NO OUT-OF-STATE PERMITS ACCEPTED). NO EXCEPTIONS. This permit must be presented to us at the time of the test. All drive tests are conducted from First Baptist Church, 332 E. 11th Street in Durango. We also offer the written learner's permit test for $25 per test. Payment is cash only.
-Driver Awareness Program is for those students who want to get their learner's permit but they are between the ages of 15 years, 6 months and 16 years. This is a four hour driver education course as required by the state of Colorado for the above ages. In order to take the class, the student must be at least 15 years, 6 months on the day of the class. The cost is $50. Please click on the "Schedule of Classes" for dates, times, location, and registration.
-The 30 hour driver education course is available in two formats: online (from this site-$99-note that this does not include the 6 hours of driving with an instructor-$335) and in person which includes 6 hours of driving with a licensed instructor. If you choose not to do the 30 hours of coursework through the internet, we offer the course live and we include the 6 hours of driving. Typically, this course is done four days in a row and each day is eight hours. Although the state of Colorado allows a student as young as 14 years and 6 months old to take the class, we strongly recommend that a student be within 1 month of his/her 15th birthday (14 years and 11 months) to do this class with us. Please click on the "Schedule of Classes" for dates, times, location, and registration. The cost is $435.
-Defensive Driving Course through the National Safety Council. We offer the 4 hour course. 4CSA is certified by the National Safety Council to offer this course in order to help cut down on auto insurance premiums and as a means of dismissing a traffic ticket. The cost is $50 for the DDC-4 (4 hours) course. Please click on the "Schedule of Classes" for dates, times, location, and registration.
-Replacement forms and/or certificates cost $10 each regardless of whether they are picked up, emailed or mailed.
-You need to preregister by going to https://mydmv.colorado.gov/_/ if you plan to take a written test or attend the 30 hour driver education class or attend the Driver Awareness Program class. Click on "Apply for a Driver License or ID" link and then click on the "Next" link. After that follow the online instructions. When you have completed the process there will be a number that I need you to provide for me when you come to class or take the written test.
We service all of the Four Corners area of Colorado including Durango, Bayfield, Ignacio, and Cortez.
*Please note that the above prices are subject to change without notice.